Bound Stone of Heroic Experience

magearnia

I just started playing DDO with the recent quest pack giveaways (have played LOTRO for years). I started leveling a character I intend to reincarnate repeatedly, but then read about having a character at level cap that can farm resources for reincarnating - I've started that character which is now level three. My understanding is that being a first life, using the Bound Stone of Heroic Experience from the Isle of Dread expansion will give this character enough XP to go to level 20. Will I be forced to go straight to level 20? Or will I be able to just go to level 19 for now, so that I can do still do heroic quests for favor and gear? Thanks.

rabidfox

The People's Champion
Most people tend to wait for their 3rd+ life to use it, as that stone + 50% XP pot will take you almost to 20 even with the extra XP requirements, and it's overkill for a 1st lifer. But if you want to use it now, go for it. It just gives the XP, you don't have to level up and can park at 19 if you really want to, but there's no real reason to. Heroic quests aren't locked out by being in epics, you can still every heroic quest in the game on elite without issue.

edit: and if you're making a character to just park at cap to farm gear for your main then you might consider using an iconic race; as that'll start you at level 15 and make it easy to just level up normally to cap.

Reactions: dur

Bogrot

Just for interest, you still get xp for elite lvl12 heroic quests at lvl20, heroic lvl 13 elite quests at lvl21 etc. I run the Vecna chain (lvl18) when at lvl21 and run it on reaper difficulty (solo).

If going for the 5k favour reward it can be a great way of amassing favour whilst still getting xp.

I agree with another poster - use the heroic stone on your third life as you will storm through the first two lives.

BTW - always run the epic quests that give tokens of the 12, that way your TR is free.

Br4d